Betsy- Tacy Books by Maud Hart Lovelace

The Betsy-Tacy book series is about Betsy Ray and her best friend Tacy Kelly.  As time goes on, they meet another girl, named Tib Muller, who also becomes their best friend.  The stories follow the girls from the age of five all the way to their early married years.  The timeline of the series takes place in the late 1800’s into the early 1900’s.  The books are fiction, but based on facts from the author’s childhood.

There are ten books in the collection and an additional three in the Deep Valley series, which is an extension to the Betsy-Tacy books.  Girls would probably appreciate these books more than boys, but boys may like them too.  All ages from young kids to grandmas will like to read these stories.  (My grandma is currently reading them.)  There is nothing scary or inappropriate in this series.


One of the stories in Betsy-Tacy and Tib is about Betsy and Tacy’s first time going up on the big hill.  They wanted to play on the big hill because their older sisters would go there.  Then Betsy and Tacy decided that they were going to live on the big hill and they were never going to go back home.   They found some apples to eat.  They caught an angry chicken for eggs.   They decided pillows would be made out of rocks….then they decided to go home because they didn’t want to sleep on rocks.  When they got home they discovered that a “mysterious” visitor had called on them.

These books are funny and girls can relate to them.  I have them all and I have read them many, many times.  You can learn more about the author, Maud Hart Lovelace, as well as print reading guides, game ideas, create your own Betsy-Tacy book club, and more here.

After you read some of the Betsy-Tacy books you can take a trip to the Betsy-Tacy Museum in Mankato, Minnesota.  There you can take a tour of the actual houses that Betsy and Tacy lived in as kids.  The houses have been turned into museums and restored to the original era of the books.

We have been there.  It was really neat.  They even have the bench – which you’ll find out about when you read the books.  Happy reading!

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Product DetailsProduct Details         

If you decide to purchase the books, they can be purchased separately or as multiple stories within on book; this is option is more cost effective.

The Betsy-Tacy Treasury: The First Four Betsy-Tacy Books

Heaven to Betsy/Betsy in Spite of Herself 

 Betsy Was a Junior/Betsy and Joe   

Betsy and the Great World/Betsy’s Wedding

Carney’s House Party/Winona’s Pony Cart

Emily of Deep Valley: A Deep Valley Book

This post contains affiliate links.  That simply means that you if you purchase something through the link on our site, the company it links to may credit us.  It does not cost you any extra money to use the links on our site, but it does benefit us.  So, thank you in advance for any clicks and purchases you decide to make.  We appreciate it.
Click here to see our full Disclosure Policy or Privacy Policy.

Let's Keep in Touch

We love to share. Subscribe and we'll email you when we have more fun stuff.

Powered by ConvertKit